Food · Japanese · Lobster · Noodles · Ramen · Singapore

Ramen Keisuke Lobster King

TGIF! Finally it’s the weekend. Today I’m going to eat at this outlet which is abit special.

First, it only opens from 6 p.m and until 5 p.m. Second, It serves lobster broth ramen. Third, It serves Japanese wine and sake which makes it an Izakaya style ramen place. The place? Ramen Keisuke Lobster King.

IMG_1377
Expect to see queue as soon as it is open. Either be early or prepare to queue.

It makes sense to open only at night till early morning as there are many bars and clubs around the area. In Japan, after a long night of drinking, it is common for salary-man to have a bowl of ramen to fill their stock before heading home. As I don’t really drink, I can’t really say much about their selection of alcohol but I think we all can come in for a hot bowl of ramen.

Lobster King takes inspiration from the French culinary style behind the famous French lobster bisque. Mr Keisuke Takeda also uses French rock lobsters specially imported from France. Carefully selected for its characteristic rich and abundant roe and flavour, the shells of rock lobster are first pan-fried, crushed into fine bits and subsequently simmered for 6 hours with a special blend of herbs and vegetables to create the Lobster Broth Ramen (Clear Soup). To create the creamy texture and unique depth in flavour in another creation – the Lobster Broth Ramen (Rich Creamy Soup), the stock brewing takes an additional 4-6 hours.

This bowl has also another special item besides the usual chashu, black fungus and bamboo shoots, the shrimp wanton.

IMG_1375
Lobster Broth Ramen (rich) with Flavoured Egg

As it’s only my 2nd time here. I won’t call this a periodic review. The first time I was here was during the official opening event. Back then the broth was good but I think now it taste better than before. I remembered the shrimp wanton I had was a fail as the wanton crumbles due to overcooking. I would say they have improved on the wanton as it is now nicely cooked and you can taste the wholesome shrimp taste compared to back then it just taste like wanton skin.

IMG_1376
Juicy whole shrimp inside.

Actually Lobster King and Kani King taste quite similar so I would more likely to recommend Kani King due to shorter queue but If I’m in the Clarke Quay area I’ll drop in for a bowl of tasty ramen with the wanton.

Back to shopping at Kinokuniya in Liang Court. I shan’t bored you all with books. See ya soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

